Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sorry, I'm worried and inexperienced...  (Read 1932 times)

Little Landy Lover

• Joined Apr 2014
Sorry, I'm worried and inexperienced...
« on: April 20, 2014, 11:26:17 pm »
Hello again...
Right, Ewes nearing/ on due date. When I've been out at night to check on them at least 3-5 of them are breathing heavily and stopping (breathe in. stop. breathe out then in rapidly) and have been doing this for a few nights but don't when the sun is showing any light. Are they simply imminent and not wanting to lamb due to the rotten weather? This is my first year checking on the ewes, I've only ever been delivering and documenting, never seen them in the days before. can anyone shed any light or am I being styuppid?
Cheers

Arch

Sheep have two missions in life; escape and die. If they can do both at the same time they're happy!

Little Landy Lover

• Joined Apr 2014
Re: Sorry, I'm worried and inexperienced...
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2014, 12:02:54 am »
2 Cotswolds, 2 clleyns (1 already lambed), 2 Lambuenogs (Spelling for both?) a Jacob and Jeffex (no one knows, many different breeds in her...)
I'm was just wondering if its something else, a few of them have bubbly guts and occasional farting which seams to be related to the breathing. forgot to mention that  :huff:
Sheep have two missions in life; escape and die. If they can do both at the same time they're happy!

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2014, 12:11:55 am »
If ruminants aren't burping and farting then something is wrong - it's how their digestion works!  They should burp roughly once or twice a minute.