Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Slaughter prices  (Read 13105 times)

welshlass181

• Joined Jan 2011
Slaughter prices
« on: April 05, 2011, 01:31:12 pm »
Hello all  :P your friendly pig keeping noob here he he. 

As most of you know i have kune kune crosses on the land that i have.  I called up about a pure kune kune boar to keep as breeding stock but when i spoke to the lady i offered to take the 4 boars from her (she needs shot of them due to health reasons) so we're making a new pen and ark for them with lots of elec fence to keep the lil buggers in until we need them.

3 of the boars above and 2 of the piglet boars that i have (when piglets get a touch bigger) and 3 or 4 of the gilts are going to slaughter when they are a worth while size.  Just spoke to my "local" abattoir and they told me that to kill and cut them is over £50 a pig !!!!!!! i was horrified  >:( i felt that there was no way it was worth that money sending them to slaughter and we were better off keeping them ...... really disheartened.  Anyway, i spent some time on the phone yesterday and spoke to some other slaughter houses in Wales.  Spoke to a really nice guy who put my mind at rest and i was quoted £0.60 per kilo kill and cut.  Need to phone back tomorrow morning and speak to the lady there about the different cuts they do as i have no idea what i am asking for and as i have boars in there whats best to do with them.  This abattoir is not local to me but we felt a lot happier as the guy was happy to help and not curt or anything ...... well anyway.

Getting the boars next week now as we've just bought the stock fence, mesh elec fence and posts and need to make the ark.  Bit daunted about keeping a boar (or 4 boars) with ours but it's no biggy really as the whole field will be done by the end of the month and they can roam as much as they want.

Liquidator

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Dornoch, Sutherland, Highlands
  • It's a Landrover thing, you wouldn't understand :)