Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: when to dagg and do feet?  (Read 5721 times)

shearling

• Joined Mar 2011
when to dagg and do feet?
« on: March 27, 2011, 10:46:34 am »
Our ewes are due to Lamb in the next few weeks. They are very woolly and have overgrown hooves. I have read the other posts about leaving the feet until after lambing. My question is do we have a go at dagging before they give birth or not? if not when after lambing should we dag and do their feet. Some of them are very overgrown. I am a newbie to all of this and do not want to distress them or allow them to suffer because of my ignorance. I am not that good at either aspect, but could possibly get a local sheep keeper to help.  ??? Any advice greatly appreciated by me and very defiantly them!

bigchicken

• Joined Nov 2008
  • Fife Scotland
Re: when to dagg and do feet?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2011, 10:56:45 am »
I would be very loathed to dag now I could be to much of a disturbance at this late stag of pregnancy, you could dag and do the feet when you check the ewes over after they give birth,
Shetland sheep, Castlemilk Moorits sheep, Hebridean sheep, Scots Grey Bantams, Scots Dumpy Bantams. Shetland Ducks.

shearling

• Joined Mar 2011
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2011, 11:00:59 am »
Thank you, this is what I was thinking. How long after giving birth do you do it? straight away after she has licked the lamb?

Freddiesfarm

• Joined Jan 2010
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2011, 11:32:12 am »
Either dag them in the autumn/winter months or about a week after lambing and do feet at the same time.  If you wait a week or so after lambnig you can combine it with checking the udders just in case of mastitis or poor milk production.  I am doing my main batch of ewes now about two weeks after the last one lambed and I have had 1 case of mastitis out of 140 ewes but always worth checking for.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs