Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: advice on sheep breeds please  (Read 13094 times)

wolfie

• Joined May 2008
advice on sheep breeds please
« on: September 15, 2008, 12:19:59 pm »
We have posted on various other parts of the forum, having moved to West Wales in April 08.  We have two fields (one about 7 acres and 1 about 4) which we did nothing to this year just to see what came up in the way of grasses, wildflowers etc.  We are in many minds about how to manage the land (it hasn't been treated in any way for at least 12 years and we would continue not using chemicals) as one of our priorities is conservation (we have a stream with some rare beasties in and we are avid bird watchers), and so many people have suggested sheep.  Husband and kids are keen, but I have visions of rotting feet and maggotty bottoms (especially if we go chemical free which we want to) and also the difficultly in finding someone to shear a small flock.
Any advice for complete novices welcomed - we are keen to learn, would do courses, and would eat both lamb and mutton so we could certainly make full use out of a small flock.  If we go for it would you suggest any breeds (preferably OK with wet as we are in Wales, and as friendly as possibly as the kids are sheep mad), is it worth going for a no shearing breed, and how many sheep would make an impact on our land and be manageable for novice smallholders to look after and keep fit and healthy. `Also when is the best time to buy (and would we buy some older ewes that are proven mums) so we can maximise the impact on the grass next year.  We have a fancy for Ryelands, but any advice/ideas would be warmly welcomed. Thanks

kaz

• Joined Jul 2008
  • Ceredigion
  • Dust yourself off when life throws you down.
Re: advice on sheep breeds please
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 01:45:02 pm »
Hi