Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Itchy pigs  (Read 2639 times)

waterboy

• Joined May 2010
Itchy pigs
« on: August 28, 2010, 05:41:17 pm »
Hi all, just a quick question my 4 OSB piglets seem to be scratching quite a bit. I have had a good look at them and cant see anything obvious they haven't scratched any hair off or have any raw looking patches of skin. They are 10 weeks old and seem perfectly happy otherwise eating well and chasing each others round and investigating all the tasty weeds in their field. I was wondering if there is anything i should be checking or should i just get the vet to give them the once over?

Thanks
Rob & Manda :)

sarha

• Joined Jun 2010
  • East Sussex
Re: Itchy pigs
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2010, 06:32:55 pm »
I'm not an expert on pigs....but I would suggest using louse powder just in case? They might have lice in the bedding?

I have some I use on my chucks and turkeys....its in a gold tin and its all natural....can't remember what its called:) I sprinkle it in their bedding and also the pigs bedding and have given them a sprinkle too...just in case.

Hopefully someone with alot more experience will be able to answer your question and give you better advice....so take mine for what it is....a newbie's view :)
Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do, than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines; sail away from the safe harbour; catch the trade winds in your sails. -  Mark Twain

HappyHippy

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2010, 07:08:16 pm »
Some pigs just like to scratch too  ;D
Mine all love a nice wooden post or corner of their arc and spend a happy minute or two scratching themselves (think how good it feels to get your back scratched ;)) They may also have been stung by nettles if there's lots of them in the field.
If you've checked them over and there's no signs of lice or broken skin I wouldn't worry overly much - just keep an eye on them.
Karen

Sudanpan