Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: getting sheep - total newbie to sheep!!  (Read 6584 times)

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
getting sheep - total newbie to sheep!!
« on: August 20, 2010, 03:58:22 pm »
ok, having given up on finding someone to graze our land this year and with hubby sick to death of strimming pathways to our overgrown orchard due to lack of 4 legged mowers we have decided to get some of our own.

I have heard about sheep that don't need to be sheared - anyone any experience of these?

If I literally only want a few in my little flock when and where is the best time to go about this? woudl it be spring for orphan lambs?

am looking for fairly sturdy sheep that don't need to be kept in if its cold  :D
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

Hermit

• Joined Feb 2010
Re: getting sheep - total newbie to sheep!!
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 04:04:41 pm »
Shetland sheep dont need to be sheared, they can be 'rooed', there are some good instruction videos on google! There may be other breeds I dont know.

ellisr

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Wales
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 04:08:29 pm »
Orphan lambs are normally commercial cross breeds and can be a handful as I have found out. I have found Dorsets and Ryelands to be lovely natured, hardy and if they do get out they will normally take themselves back to bed at night.
Bring a ram in and have a few lambs in spring to put in the freezer in autumn and the sheep will pay for there own keep and keep your grass like a bowling green.
Remember you have to feed them in winter and when like this year the grass doesn't grow fast enough, good fencing and a solid gate is needed too.
They have to be wormed, vaccinated,hooves cut, sheared and fly treatment this is best planned and costs taken into account.