Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lambs with brain damage  (Read 4270 times)

Lorenza

• Joined Feb 2016
Lambs with brain damage
« on: April 30, 2018, 02:46:46 pm »
Hi Guys. So I am in my third year of lambing. We Only sent 2 to the ram this year as we cut our numbers down

So our two have lambed with no troubles, should say they are shetlands. We had a wonderful, strong single yesterday morning. I went up this morning after having checked on them last night and the other ewe had lambed. The landlady who lives there said that everything was fine at 6 this morning but she saw one of my other ewes head butt my single lamb. When I got there I saw what I thought was a dead lamb. I rushed her straight to the vets where she was tube fed and given anti inflammatories and antibiotics. Her head and neck was spinning and her eyes were really twitching. Vet said it may be touch and go with her but may pull through. The brain may heal or she may have some permanent damage. For me, as long as she can have a decent quality of life, she can continue to live with our flock as we wont be sending things to the ram this year.

My question is, has anyone ever had the same sort of thing happen and the lamb pull through??

I have just tube fed her again and she has stopped spinning her head, her eyes are not twitching and ger suckle reflex is starting to return, not enough for a bottle though. She is also holding her head but still is keeping her eyes shut and cannot stand. She has passed urine as well  This is 4 hours after being seen by the vets. Is this some hope or just false hope??

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Lambs with brain damage
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2018, 03:09:59 pm »
Sounds like there is some hope she may recover sufficiently to have a nice life.