Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep and long grass - do they mix ??  (Read 17294 times)

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008
Sheep and long grass - do they mix ??
« on: September 08, 2008, 12:05:14 pm »
HI

I am a complete beginner to sheep keeping who has recently bought a small flock of pedigree zwartbles which I am really looking forward to bringing home soon after they have been tupped.  However !! my field has been used for silage by the local farmer and the intention was to put the sheep onto the aftermath BUT because of the relentless wet weather the 2nd cut hasn't been able to be taken and its now into September.  The ground has been too wet to take a tractor in and the grass is now beginning to go brown.  Is it likely that it could still be cut ? Main Question is ..... what happens if it can't be cut and is left as it is ?  Can you put sheep into such long (and possibly rotting!) grass ?  From my book I understand that long wet grass can cause scald ? I also have this vision of sheep struggling through it ?  Perhaps worrying about nothing but would welcome any comments. thanks.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: Sheep and long grass - do they mix ??
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2008, 06:43:26 pm »
I'm no expert but I think the grass is now useless for silage. Recieved wisdom is that long grass causes scoots. We're struggling to get grass cut too - as it gets longer it takes more time to dry and it's never that long between showers!

Glad you got your zwartbles (I had four attempts at spelling this - hope it's correct!) - will we see you at the smallholders association?

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2008, 07:44:17 pm »