Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lambs Scrotum  (Read 1727 times)

Ingledenesuffolks

• Joined Apr 2018
Lambs Scrotum
« on: April 21, 2018, 09:26:10 pm »
Hello. I am new to this so i'd appreciate your patience.
We castrated one of the ram lambs yesterday (using castration rings) however this morning he was walking funny and seems to be in a lot of discomfort. I checked him over and found that the sack itself had somehow burst and was bleeding.  Firstly, he escaped from his pen during the night so i am unsure if the damage was caused by this or if it was caused by the castration. Secondly, how should i treat this?

He seems to urinate normally and stools are normal however he has a reduced appetite and walks around with one back leg off the ground although toes the floor when standing. He also struggles to sit normally.

I have just checked him again and it appears that the sack it tearing away.

I would really appreciate any help anyone can offer.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Lambs Scrotum
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 11:00:26 am »
I haven't come across this in thousands of ringings, so I suspect it's an injury he acquired in his escapade. Can you get him to a vet?
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2018, 12:19:25 pm »
VET QUICKLY

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2018, 12:48:02 pm »
Vet - right NOW!

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2018, 05:37:16 pm »