Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: worm count  (Read 1590 times)

Lucyyoung

• Joined Feb 2018
worm count
« on: March 20, 2018, 03:54:09 pm »
Hi all this is my first year lambing and all are on the ground alive and well (woo hoo!!)
The whole worming sheep confuses the hell out of me so I'm after opinions on worm counting and advice on when i should be worming lambs?
thanks in advance!!

Paul and Caroline

• Joined Apr 2014
Re: worm count
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2018, 09:56:20 pm »
Hi - I struggled to get my head round it at first but think I am making a bit more sense of it now as we approach our 3rd Spring. We do not worm proactively in that we do not routinely worm. We were luckily in that our land was more or less virgin land as far as sheep were concerned and so we didn't have the pressure that existing sheepkeepers had. We were advised about the risks of wormer resistance if we wormed unnecessarily so we submit samples of dung (the sheep - not ours!) to our vets who do Faecal Egg Counts (FEC) and advise us accordingly. On our last test we were told there was a nil count - therefore no worming. On the occasion prior to that we were told there was a low to medium count and we dosed as advised by our vet - that is not to confuse it with fluke prevention which we approach entirely differently. I don't know if what we do is the technically correct method but it works for us..... hope this helps......

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2018, 10:19:17 pm »
For general worming advice, you're best to read the SCOPS guidance notes, particularly this one.

For worming lambs in particular, you should also be aware of a worm called "Nematodirus Battus".