Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New at raising orphan lambs  (Read 1836 times)

Jana Hefner

• Joined Feb 2018
New at raising orphan lambs
« on: February 25, 2018, 04:26:32 am »
 :sheep: I'm new at this and could use some advice with an orphan lamb: I am feeding a milk replacer.  The lamb is now 16 days old and is quite active and friendly.  He will consume about 32 ounces of milk split into 4 feedings per day, and he is gaining weight.  I've noticed that he is sneezing/coughing? quite a bit and has a slight rumble sound sometimes when he breathes. He does not have a snotty nose, but he does have a very runny stool.  Should I be concerned?  Is it recommended to treat him with a medication?  I hear people talking about introducing creep feed.  What is it and how do you introduce it?  I have tried cutting up orchard grass hay very fine, crushing up wet cob, crushed oats, live grass - but he's not interested.

gingerpigs

• Joined Feb 2015
Re: New at raising orphan lambs
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2018, 01:24:06 pm »
I would ring the vet and describe the symptoms. If she thinks pneumonia they will prescribe an antibiotic which you can give yourself, usually an injection. If you haven't done it before, take the lamb to the vet (cheaper than call-out) and ask them to show you so you know for next time. Don't delay.
Go to agricultural merchants and ask for a bag of creep feed for lambs, cost around £7 for 20 kilos, put a little in a dish and every day throw out old (give to hens) and replace with fresh. Make sure the lamb has plenty fresh air and is not kept somewhere stuffy or dusty or with freezing cold blasting wind. Ask your vet about heptavac.
Please let me know how you get on.

nimbusllama

• Joined Nov 2010
  • Near Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 10:03:24 am »
Hi Jana