Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: advice please on poorly wether  (Read 1798 times)

lars64

• Joined Mar 2013
advice please on poorly wether
« on: February 22, 2018, 05:43:49 pm »
I've been keeping sheep for a couple of years, but am still very much a novice, so am after a bit of advice. Two of my small mixed flock are ryeland wethers. Bought at the same time and coming up to 2 years old. One is big and healthy, the other a lot smaller. Through the winter the sheep have ad lib (2017) hay supplemented with a bit of dry sheep feed. I've been slightly concerned about him for a while as he's smaller, but he's been bounding up for his food, the same as the rest of them. A couple of days ago, I felt that he was a bit slower than the rest of them and lethargic. At the same time, I noticed he'd been scouring, so decided to bring him inside for a bit of TLC. When I came out again to move him, I noticed him limping, which was a bit strange as I hadn't noticed that earlier.

I brought him inside the day before yesterday and gave him a check over. I can't see anything wrong with him and his feet are fine. He's just much skinnier than all the others. They were all wormed last year (skipped the previous year due to a low FEC). Anyway, the little beggar wasn't limping by then and seemed bright and active. I gave him hay, a bit of concentrate and water and he noshed into the lot. So, I decided to keep him in for a while, keep an eye on him and feed him up.

Which brings us to today. He's still bright and active and his droppings are solid, however he doesn't seem to be eating much. There was some concentrate left in his feeder and he hasn't made much of an impression on the hay.

I'll take him down to the vet if I get really concerned, but can you advise what else might be up with him and what else I should do?