Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: what are you spinning ?  (Read 16301 times)

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
what are you spinning ?
« on: August 04, 2010, 12:27:36 am »
I was wondering what other spinners are working on.  I have been concentrating on Hebridean fleece for a few years now but the other day I bought a pale cream alpaca fleece so I've started spinning that.  It comes out slightly thicker than I would have expected, but pretty much the same as all the other alpaca handspun I've seen.  Makes me itch though, probably all the floating fibres. I'm hoping to ply it with a darker alpaca I bought last year to make a cosy shawl for breakfast in bed in the winter  ;D ;D  I was also wondering about adding glitter to it somehow.  I don't like angelina but wondered about beads.  Does anyone do that?
"Let's not talk about what we can do, but do what we can"

There is NO planet B - what are YOU doing to save our home?

Do something today that your future self will thank you for - plant a tree

Love your soil - it's the lifeblood of your land.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: what are you spinning ?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 09:09:57 pm »
Oh no replies  :(  I thought there were other spinners on here.......

knightquest

• Joined May 2010
  • Birmingham
    • Knight Pet Supplies
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 09:16:56 pm »
Sorry, I know nothing about spinning. I did however find your description of what you were doing fascinating. I think in life, I am a maker rather than a talker for instance or a planner so I am amazed when people like yourself have the confidence and ability to do what you are obviously good at and produce something tangible at the end.

Keep up the good work and post piccies if you can  :)

Ian
Ian (me), Diane (my wife) and 4 dogs. Ollie (Lab mix) , Quest (Malamute), Gazer and Boris (Leonbergers)

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010