Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Welts on body and face  (Read 5999 times)

mulberry100

• Joined Jul 2010
Welts on body and face
« on: July 13, 2010, 12:50:38 pm »
Hi I'm new to pigs, and we have had our 3 pigs for about 3 weeks now. Yesterday morning one of the gilts (age 5 months) was not interested in her food, and went into her house.Later in the day we noticed red sellings in patches on her face, abdomen and rump on one side. we assumed she had lain on a wasps nest and gave her some antihistamine.She remained depressed and in her house all day. this morning she ate half her food, then went inside again. There are now more swellings. I phoned the vet to check we were doing the right thing with the antihistamine and he said he suspected erysipelas. I am waiting for him now, as he says she will need antibiotics.
How serious is this? Will the antibiotics prevent us being able to send her to the abattoir early September.
Is this something that she has caught from our land, or do you think she had it when she arrived.
as you can tell, I am pretty worried.
Thanks
Sarah

dixie

• Joined Mar 2009
Re: Welts on body and face
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 01:02:50 pm »
Yes sounds like erysipelas, it is serious and needs treating with anti biotics, hopefully she will make a full recovery, hard to say where she got it, but it may be from your ground, fingers crossed for her. She will be fine for slaughter in September the withdrawal period is I think? 21 days.

JulieS

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Devon - EX39 5RF
    • Ford Mill Farm
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2010, 01:33:59 pm »
Yes I agree with dixie, it does sound like erysipelas.  I hope everything turns out OK.   Depending on which antibiotic the vets prescribes it will be 21  or 28 days withdrawl, so you will be OK for September.

Let us know how you get on.
Pedigree GOS Pigs and Butchery for Smallholders.

mulberry100

• Joined Jul 2010
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 01:45:46 pm »