Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Seems we have been diddled with the ewe lambs we have purchased.  (Read 2650 times)

burness_21

• Joined May 2017
We purchased 20 Welsh ewe lambs to run on over the winter then put in lamb next year as shearlings.

However when they arrived they all have a single yellow eid slaughter tag. We have tried to get the seller to upgrade the tags to breeding tags however he is not responding to us at all. It turns out that he is a dealer and purchased them from a slaughter market and has sold them as ewe lambs to be bred from.  What do we do? They are sweet lambs and we would like to keep them but we are now very worried about the whole tagging situation. I’m fairly new to keeping sheep and I struggle to understand the whole tagging and movement licencing side of things.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2017, 06:46:16 pm by burness_21 »

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
Re: Seems we have been diddled with the ewe lambs we have purchased.
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 11:16:24 am »
Your only option to to buy some RED replacement full EID tags with YOUR flock number on.  You then cut out all the slaughter tags and replace them with the red full eid numbered pair.  Then record what you have done in your flock book.

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2017, 12:13:10 pm »
As above, just replace with double RED tags with your flock number on, simples :)

bj_cardiff

• Joined Feb 2017
  • Carmarthenshire
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2017, 12:35:13 pm »
Its silly to me that the slaughter Eid tags don't have a visable number printed on them for exactly this situation, but there you go. As other have said, order red replacemrnt tags with your details on, its not a big deal or any reason for you to stress over.

I wouldn't say that you'd been diddled at all either, I'm sure it happens all the time

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2017, 12:38:37 pm »