Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: help! im new to chickens please can someone tell me wats wrong?  (Read 2210 times)

chellebells69

• Joined Jul 2010
Hiya everyone
last week i rescued a cockeral from a next door neighbout, (he was being bullied by their big cockeral) he has been plucked and beaten and looks a little on the rough side but was making good progress until today.
i have started to notice him acting strangely he is running semi free range with 3 hens, but today i noticed him shaking, looking a bit hunched up and walking backwards/unncoordinate and about every 10 seconds yawning, but then he may act normally for a while so it is noy consistant, since i have had him i have never seen him mate any of my hens and he does seem a bit on the quiet side.
Any ideas?
thanks

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: help! im new to chickens please can someone tell me wats wrong?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2010, 11:36:56 pm »
Sounds like he's not well.  Do you have any poultry tonics/spices etc?  If he's Ok in the morning try him with poultry spice, citricidal, cider vinegar.  He may have an infection.  Might need antibiotics from your vet.
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

Sandy

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 12:04:19 am »
Sounds drunk to me!!! No not kidding I mean, has he been at some old fruit or something else poisonous!!!!! :chook:

whitby_sam

• Joined Feb 2008
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2010, 11:03:49 am »
The "yawning" could be a sign of gape worm. Other symptoms include depression and head shaking.

chellebells69

• Joined Jul 2010
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2010, 09:06:36 pm »
hiya
thank you guys for your reply, have noticed today that the little chap has mites just to add to his problems.