Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Domestic and wild ducks mixing  (Read 3562 times)

xenedra

• Joined Jun 2017
Domestic and wild ducks mixing
« on: August 28, 2017, 02:05:59 pm »
Hi there, I'd like to start keeping ducks for eggs (and occasionally for the table). So I'm considering getting Silver Appleyards because they're pretty and seem multi-purpose. As I'm very new to duck keeping I'm trying to read up on the subject, but haven't yet found any info on problems with them mixing with wild ducks. I have a moat at my house and it's regularly visited by Mallards.
Will the wild ducks beat my ducks up, pass on any nasty diseases or encourage my ducks to fly off? Will they breed with each other and end up wild? Do I need to do anything special to ensure my ducks remain tame, separate and happily waddle into their own duck house to be safely locked in at the end of the day? The wild ducks come and go as they please, and nest on the bank. I have visions of me buying ducks and building a cute little duck house only to find they all lay their eggs among the bushes where I can't find them then disappear.

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
Re: Domestic and wild ducks mixing
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2017, 04:23:28 pm »
Hmm, the Silver Appleyards I raised a few years ago wouldn't have followed your script.  Remember that last Winter, from late Autumn until early May this year, keepers of poultry, including ducks, were required to keep their birds under cover to avoid contamination from migrating birds (mostly wildfowl) due to avian influenza.  I'm working on the assumption that this could well be repeated this year.

harmony

• Joined Feb 2012
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2017, 05:57:13 pm »