Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Newbie land owner 8 acres Hi all.  (Read 2142 times)

lazynewt

• Joined Aug 2017
Newbie land owner 8 acres Hi all.
« on: August 08, 2017, 04:13:48 pm »
Hi there all. Myself/wife and mother have just moved into an old barn conversion/farm . We have 8 acres of good land.. I work in IT but am very hands on at building/outdoor work. We have a 2 year old and are looking to grow our family. In an ideal world my wife would stay at home and raise the family and i would work.. But as the world is even with a decent salary i'm still a few hundred short each month..  so here i am..

My Mission / aim is
- Work my land with an aim raise a few hundred additional £s a month.
- Have some animals so my daughter is able to enjoy interacting/learning about them.
- Keep my wife at home and raise a large family.

Ideally if i can ever get to a place where my smallholding/farm pays more than the day job i would switch.. but i doubt this will happen any time soon.

I'm hard working and capable of pretty much anything.. What im lacking is the knowledge and experience to identify what i can do e.g sheep/cows/chickens.. what will yield me the highest return and  where to start. I will read through the forum and have already read a bunch of posts/sites but im still somewhat in the dark.. If anyone can point me in the right direction or offer advice id really appreciate it.

Nice to meet you all and thanks in advance.

« Last Edit: August 08, 2017, 04:52:24 pm by lazynewt »

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: Newbie land owner 8 acres Hi all.
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2017, 10:20:00 pm »
 :wave: and welcome from Shropshire. I am a back garden smallholder so can't give advice on this but I'm sure someone will be along soon.

Backinwellies

• Global Moderator
  • Joined Sep 2012
  • Llandeilo Carmarthenshire
    • Nantygroes
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2017, 08:16:43 am »
Hi and welcome