Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Starting out with dairy goats  (Read 3419 times)

goatredbrooke

• Joined Aug 2017
Starting out with dairy goats
« on: August 05, 2017, 10:19:47 am »
Hello,

We're thinking of starting out keeping a small herd of dairy goats next year (3-4). We have an acre paddock they could use and some animal sheds we can covert in to a goat house. We'll be re-fencing anyway but I'm aware that we'll need to make the fencing particularly robust to keep goats away from our (rural, smallholding) neighbours and our veg patch!

We'd like to keep friendly, sociable goats that we can lead and also produce enough milk for our own family use plus the odd bit of cheese making (again for our own consumption).

We are complete novices so will be researching thoroughly and, as a start, I  wondered whether you experienced goat keepers had any advice on which breed might fit the bill?

I'm also confused about what to purchase to ensure we have goats that can be milked without having to deal with pregnant goats. Is it possible to buy nanny goats with newish kids at foot? I like the idea of having kids (partly because my own human kids will enjoy that and I'd like to get them very used to us from an early age) and would be happy to sacrifice milk at first to let them wean more naturally.

Thanks and looking forward to more  :goat: chat!

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: Starting out with dairy goats
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 11:50:45 pm »
Hi

It depends on what you are looking for. There are a number of breeds and everyone has their favourites. My own particular breed is Saanens - good milkers, placid and not too bad at staying where they should. Togenburgs are also placid but quite good at getting out. Anglo Nubians are the ones who produce the richest milk, British Alpines are pretty goats but very feisty and make a career of escaping, Golden Gurnseys are smaller but have a good reputation.