Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New goats  (Read 3810 times)

New Riverside Farm

• Joined Aug 2017
New goats
« on: August 02, 2017, 10:38:40 am »
Hello. I am new to keeping goats. In fact i don't have them yet!

But I wanted to ask those with experience some question to prepare myself for goat keeping. I am looking at GGs as good first time goats who can eventually be milked and are friendly.

But what are some good items to have to hand for goat keeping? I know I need fencing, housing, feed, water - I've read about charcoal to have on hand for any grazing issues that may come up? Are there supplements - I'd prefer natural things - to keep them in good health? Or help at times with their immunity to give it a boost or keep it up?

I've read about salt licks, vitamins, calf pellets, copper - it all seems a lot. Not that I am saying it is too much - but want to separate the wheat from the chaff and understand what is actually needed and how often, so I am well prepared but not going nutty buying everything in a livestock store.

Often experienced farmers have tricks they have had passed down through the generations to keep their flock in tip top. I want to have some good information and advice so that our small group stay well and healthy.

Also, what would be a good calendar of things to take care of? Worming, fleas, coccidiosis?

I am not without any knowledge but best if you assume I am, and that way I get the best advice and preparation.

Also when could I reasonably milk them? If looking at GG or crosses of them, I want to find a good age that we may be able to milk. Doesn't have to be tomorrow, and probably won't be, but if there was a breeding season next year - what age would I want this year?

I'd be grateful for any advice and useful information to get me on the right foot (or hoof).
« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 11:16:56 am by New Riverside Farm »

Flump74

• Joined Nov 2015
  • Ceredigion
Re: New goats