Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Newbie here!  (Read 1335 times)

Kealy

• Joined Jul 2017
  • Staffordshire
Newbie here!
« on: July 25, 2017, 01:27:57 pm »
Hi, I've just signed up here as hoping to get some advice and gain some knowledge.

Myself, husband and two small kids recently moved to a house with two acres, my plan involved having a horse instead of having to loan from a yard and to get the kids a pony and to generally just enjoy life.

I have unfortunately had a nasty fracture when I was thrown from my horse a couple of weeks ago and being the wrong side of 30, not bouncing like I used to as well as having a business and family that need me fit and well I've decided to hang up my riding hat.

Now I will shortly have two acres of land and 3 stables sitting idle and no idea where to begin.

I like the idea of doing something that will provide an income, we have a construction company and I work mostly from home doing the admin and finance so can pick and choose my hours to a large degree though it's something I fell into because of my husband so I'd like to set something up now that is mine.

I'm open to any and all suggestions but I do like the idea or rearing animals though I have zero experience (Except for my two chickens the kids named Mary and Poppins) and not sure what route to go down, pigs/sheep/goats/other and was hoping somebody might be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 01:30:47 pm by Kealy »

Duchess

• Joined Jun 2017
Re: Newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 04:43:10 pm »
Welcome  :wave: :wave:

I'm sorry your hangin up your riding hat, riding is my escape lol

re your question about rearing livestock, rearing is the fun bit (mainly) however you have to at some point 'let them go' this can be difficult if they have become part of the family ? consider sheep for wool ? or growing as kids love that, its the getting dirty part that appeals.
Whatever you decide -  enjoy x