Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Removing rye grass to plant wildflower meadow  (Read 5927 times)

Laura_Long

• Joined Jul 2017
Removing rye grass to plant wildflower meadow
« on: July 10, 2017, 03:12:35 pm »
Hi All,

I am pretty new to this, we bought a 3 acre field a little while ago which is laid to Rye grass.  We would like to plant a native hedge around the top acre (field is gently sloping rectangle) and then plant a wildflower meadow and some trees in the top acre.  What is the best way to get rid of the rye grass?

Sorry if I am asking stupid questions but I have googled and not really got anywhere.

Thanks  :tree:

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Removing rye grass to plant wildflower meadow
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2017, 06:44:12 pm »
I don't know if it's the best way, but it's a way. Which is to impoverish the soil and the grass, and then introduce the wildflower seeds.  Impoverish the soil by taking a hay or silage crop at least once a year, not grazing and not fertilising.  Weaken the grass by introducing yellow rattle; it's parasitic on grass.  Once you've got yellow rattle established, other wild flowers should be able to get a hold too.

You'll probably need to keep taking a hay or silage crop each year, after the flowers have seeded.  Leave the hay to wilt for at least 24 hours before removing.  It's probably best to work the cut grass at least once before baling, so that as many of the seeds as possible come out of the crop back onto the ground.