Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Rooks  (Read 2794 times)

juliem

• Joined Aug 2014
Rooks
« on: June 18, 2017, 07:44:00 am »
I seem to have a rookery this year which has tsken resident in some oak trees in some land I own next to my house.They are extremely noisy in the morning.I even had one that fell down my chimney yesterday..wrong type of cowl.

My 12 acres are graxed by sheep.Do these rooks have any positive attributes /effects on my land?

pgkevet

• Joined Jul 2011
Re: Rooks
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 08:41:56 am »
I must admit to a soft spot for the corvids. As a young vet I had a pet jackdaw for a while.it just flew into my flat and stayed for a time. It was a bit stand-offish - only ever chatted to my girlfriends, never to me and had a habit of swooping into my dinner and grabbing the best bits; that and making a mess of the lampshade it liked to roost on.
Then there was Joe-crow who came in with broken wing and leg. I never managed to get him flying properly but he ended up homed to an estate gardener where he'd climb bushes and glide over to where the chap was digging and then hunt out the best bits. My boss made me get rid of him 'cos when Joe wandered around the surgery he had a habit of pulling on shoe-lace ends and undoing them also really winding the caged cats up. In the early weeks I'd made him a metal splint for his foot and when he got to the ramp he'd lift the other leg and ski down it

Buttermilk

• Joined Jul 2014
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 09:06:15 am »
Rooks will patrol fields and clean up leatherjackets.

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2017, 09:21:24 am »
Ours patrol the duck run looking for 'lost' eggs. They also have a habit of eating lamb creep.

Apart from that, I've never seen them do any harm, and as Buttermilk says, they do eat leatherjackets etc.
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

landroverroy