Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: plastic vs wooden hen houses  (Read 6528 times)

alan m

• Joined Jul 2008
  • Hemel Hempstead
plastic vs wooden hen houses
« on: August 05, 2008, 08:31:23 pm »
hi all, just had a relative visit us and the 4 girls, he has expressed an intrest in keeping chickens at home .His garden is about 1/4 acre he also wants to go down the Omlet Egg Cube route, can anyone give me an unbiased opinion either way, pros/cons of both, I will send him a link to this forum so he can make an informed decision.His ideal flock size is as follows:- 4 Wyandotte and 4 Bantams.
Many thanks
Alan

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: plastic vs wooden hen houses
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2008, 07:43:33 am »
I have no experience of the eglu firsthand, so I would also be very interested to hear from users especially if they have also had wooden houses.

Rosey

• Joined Jan 2008
  • Lincolnshire UK
    • UKNaturepics.com
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2008, 03:26:12 pm »
I havent used an eggloo? one but I have used a plastic shelter before.

plastic-pros
easy to clean
easy to control red spider mite
easy to move and lighter
low maintenance

cons
cost
get hot in the sun
degrade in sun faster

wood pros
cheap
easy to replace rotten/broken parts
easier to keep cool

con
Heavy
need continual maintenance
difficult to control red spider mite
not as easy to keep clean