Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Swelling under eyes and staggering in 3 month lambs  (Read 3748 times)

Notasausage

• Joined Feb 2013
Swelling under eyes and staggering in 3 month lambs
« on: June 05, 2017, 08:57:27 am »
Am awaiting vet (again) but looking for any suggestions from your experience as this is my first year with sheep.

Last week I had one of my 3 month old pet lambs present with staggering and blindness. It had scour for a few days previous which I put down to a flush of grass. Experienced neighbour treated it for coccidiosis but it quickly declined and had to be pts by the vet. Drenched the others for Nematodirus and gave Hepavac. Next day I have another one with scour. Contacted vet who gave broad spectrum antibiotic injections 1x a day for 3 days. It's had 2 and this morning is presenting the same as the other one. This time I'm going straight to the vet, but while I'm waiting has anyone any suggestions. Prior to the scour it had slight swelling under one eye, this has increased and is under both eyes. Off it's food and not seen it drinking. Though it appears blind there is no cloudiness in the eyes.

They are grazed on pasture that hasn't had sheep on it for over 5 years but has had pigs on it for the last 4. Harrowed and re-seeded last autumn and pigs now in a different area. We also have 16 chickens with access to the same area. They have access to a stable and are being fed supplimentary lamb creep. Weaned about 2 weeks ago.

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
Re: Swelling under eyes and staggering in 3 month lambs
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2017, 09:51:13 am »