Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: General advise on getting started please  (Read 2660 times)

109matt

• Joined Dec 2016
General advise on getting started please
« on: June 07, 2017, 07:50:45 am »
Morning all

Sorry if this post is in the wrong place, but I’m looking for some general advise on getting started on our small holding,  I should point out that I have zero experience ! we fell in love with the house and the land was a bonus but the more I read this amazing forum and visit shows etc the more I want to do ? 

Back in September we moved to a lovely spot in the Staffordshire moorlands with 7 acers, since then I have been trying to sort out drainage issues, we had very wet fields, fencing issues, we had none… and water supplies to the fields,

All that is now sorted and I have been topping the grass every couple of weeks to keep the weeds down and build the quality of the grass up, ( it had not been touched in 4 years+)

We have filled in all the paper work and I’m just waiting for a CPH number to arrive,

Our initial thoughts were to have some sheep to keep the grass down and in a small way make some money on meat and or wool etc