Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Halter trainning  (Read 1963 times)

Shannonsheep

• Joined May 2017
Halter trainning
« on: May 18, 2017, 01:33:51 pm »
Hi I'm new to halter training sheep, what should be the age to start ? Any tips?
Thank you   :sheep:  :)

nimbusllama

• Joined Nov 2010
  • Near Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Re: Halter trainning
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2017, 05:42:03 pm »
I think it is good for lambs to have the feel of a halter at a very young age.  I normally am showing lambs born in April, at a show at the end of May, and find that by the end of the show (if not at the start!) they are leading pretty well. Mine are Castlemilk Moorits.  Even if you are not showing it is really useful to have halter trained sheep, especially if you have a small flock, and they learn fairly quickly.  The trick is to give little tugs rather than fight all the time, and reward with a treat (if they will take it from you) or just release the pressure every time they step forward. Good luck... :thumbsup: :sheep:

Dans

• Joined Jun 2012
  • Spalding
    • Six Oaks
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2017, 03:10:53 pm »
[member=7689]nimbusllama[/member] what kind of halter do you use on the young ones? I have a 2 week old cmm ram lamb that I would like to try showing with but I'm not sure what type of halter would fit him.

Dans
9 sheep, 24 chickens, 3 cats, a toddler and a baby on the way

www.sixoaks.co.uk

www.facebook.com/pg/sixoakssmallholding

www.goodlife.sixoaks.co.uk

nimbusllama

• Joined Nov 2010
  • Near Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2017, 11:01:40 am »