Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Introduction by a British expat in Belgium  (Read 1780 times)

TJHutchison

• Joined May 2017
Introduction by a British expat in Belgium
« on: May 16, 2017, 04:59:31 pm »
Hello all,

I moved to West Flanders in Belgium two years ago and last year took the plunge to buy a house with approximately just over 2/3rds of an acre of attached land in the relative countryside.  I've always been interested in self sufficiency to some degree and although I'm sure I won't give a do or die attempt to achieve 100% non-reliance on outside sources, I would like to work what land I do have to bring myself fulfillment and to feed myself and my partner.  My knowledge is varied; I did a Countryside Management BTEC 10 years ago, I have a Masters and BSc in Ecology and have worked as an arborist for some time so I feel I have the slight basics down. 

The land I purchased came extremely degredated and I have spent the past few months getting it into a reasonable condition however it is the next hurdle I am struggling with as I feel I have too many plans and not enough space!  I am sure in myself that I will not commit to projects without adequete space but there is too much to choose from - and I have to leave 'garden space' for my partner. 

This is my introduction to I'm sure many, many more questions to come.  But firstly; what did everyone else decide to start on first as a small/moderate sized project?  More importantly - are there any other expats here?! 

Thanks!

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: Introduction by a British expat in Belgium
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2017, 08:19:03 pm »
Hello and welcome from  :sunshine: Carnoustie :wave:

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 11:21:20 pm »