Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pet lambs  (Read 3229 times)

Tex

• Joined Apr 2017
Pet lambs
« on: April 10, 2017, 08:32:12 am »
Hi all!

This is my first post on the forum but I've read many threads over the last through days and they've really helped me. I'm a first year vet student and was on a lambing placement last week. There were a few cade lambs that I was responsible for feeding whilst there, and they were to be sold on Saturday after I left.

Guess who now has 3 lambs living in the back garden  ;)

Obviously I'm not completely new to sheep, but I've never had my own before so wondered if anyone could just tell me where I might be going wrong and how to improve. It would be much appreciated!

The lambs are living in a large dog crate in the shed at night, for fear of foxes. They are out in a pen on grass during the day. Their straw is cleaned out every day and the base is cleaned with disinfectant. They have fresh water always available in a dog bowl so it's not too deep. They are fed about 200ml of lamlac each, 5 times a day at 7am, 11am, 3pm, 7pm and 11pm. Is this about right? Their tummies are rounded after feeding but don't look too full or hard. Next week we are looking to decrease it to 4 feeds which will be 5 hours apart.

All lambs have had 1ml of alamycin LA yesterday in an effort to prevent watery mouth and other infections. They are all very hungry at feeding and are quite active when not snoozing in the sunshine.

My main question is when to introduce hay and creep pellets. I have read around that this should be done at about a week old to start to develop the digestive system, but one of the lambs looks a bit younger than the others. Will it do her any harm to have access to hay and pellets?

Many thanks for your advice

EP90

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Ireland
Re: Pet lambs
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 01:51:32 pm »
As one novice to another,