Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Deal or no deal?  (Read 3295 times)

Creagan

• Joined Jun 2013
Deal or no deal?
« on: April 05, 2017, 10:07:56 pm »
I'd like to get a small number of sheep with the idea being to keep my ground in good nick and to have maybe two lambs a year for home consumption. I could support say half a dozen sheep with the ground I've got.

What I would like to do is to take in six young lambs each summer and fatten them, and then give four back at the end of the year, the other two going in my freezer.

Am I being naive thinking anybody would want to make this deal with me? I'd prefer to avoid getting into lambing as well as the hassle of selling on the open market. Obviously I'm quite new to all this and not sure of the values of lambs especially at different ages. I might also need to have a longer fattening period which means more winter work.

Hope this doesn't make me sound really lazy but I don't want to get overstretched.

Penninehillbilly

• Joined Sep 2011
  • West Yorks
Re: Deal or no deal?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2017, 01:24:52 am »
That sounds a high price for a sheep owner to pay, if more land/sheep it might possibly be worth 1 lamb.

Tim W

• Joined Aug 2013
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 07:01:46 am »

6 lambs x 12 weeks rent at 30p/wk = £21.60
There's what your land rent is worth for the summer (adjust for variations in time etc) at a commercial rate 

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 08:35:50 am »
Why not take in six lambs, but then send all six to the abbatoir when they're ready?  You could then sell the meat you don't want to family and friends, to hopefully offset the costs of your own?
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2017, 09:05:59 am »