Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Feeding primitive sheep  (Read 6814 times)

wannabesmallholder

• Joined Jan 2017
Feeding primitive sheep
« on: January 24, 2017, 10:22:24 am »
Hello

We will take delivery of 3 ouessant ewes next month, which we're getting very excited about now  :) We are new to sheep keeping and total novices, so I hope you don't mind if I ask some pretty basic questions on here?

My main question is about feeding and what I should get in in preparation for their arrival. My understanding is that the ouessants will do very well on poor grass/not much food and I don't want to over feed them, but also want to make sure they are getting what they need. They will be grazing our 1 acre paddock.

I am anticipating needing to give them some hay at this time of the year as there's not a great deal of grass and it's all frozen a lot of the time the past few weeks, though that might change by the time they arrive. How many bales of hay would you buy for 3 small primitive ewes to see them through til the grass starts coming?

They are mainly going to be pet sheep - something to keep the grass down and for us to have fun with as a family (we have 2 small children). We have gone for the ouessants as they are supposed to be "friendly" and easy to tame (apparently!) and the breeder says these ewes will come to a bucket. I want to keep them tame and keep them used to coming to a bucket, but don't want to over feed them. What type of food would you give them for this purpose? What is going to be tasty and make them want to come, but not too fattening! A sheep course mix? Vegetables? - which kind? How much would you feed them for this and how regularly do you think you'd need to bucket feed them to keep them tame?