Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Very sick ewe lamb  (Read 4543 times)

Maddie89

• Joined Sep 2016
Very sick ewe lamb
« on: December 31, 2016, 12:06:15 pm »
Hi all,
I am very new to sheep and only had my ewe lambs a matter of weeks and its been a steep learning curve.

One of the ewes has always been smaller than the others and not as interested in eating. She then developed persistent scouring so I wormed them all. This then seemed to clear up and she got a lot better and the scour went. She then took a big down turn and we found her lying out in the field on her own after the others had all come in for their small amount of ewe nuts. She seemed very depressed and the scour had come back. I called the vet out and he said it seemed likely she had a large infestation of worms and he gave her an injectable wormer (and the others), an antibiotic because he said her lungs were slightly raspy, and a pain relief injection.

That was on Tuesday and since then she was eating a small amount of hay but no nuts. Yesterday she stopped eating all together but she was drinking lots of water and she has really runny nose and still scouring. I rang the vet back and he said that he had given her everything he could and it would be a waiting game to see if the intestine could heal itself. I then syringed about 60ml of sugar water into her mouth yesterday slowly and she seemed to quite enjoy it.

This morning she's not bothered about the sugar water and I got about 20-30mls into her. I have just given her a twin lamb drench and she's still drinking water. I now don't really know what else to do- I've sectioned her off from the others in the stable with the hurdles outside so she can still see them but not aimlessly follow them around the field and waste her energy. I was thinking about trying to syringe some runny weetabix into her mouth a bit later- she's only just had the drench and probably needs a break.