Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: i am new to this  (Read 8592 times)

madmax

• Joined Jun 2010
i am new to this
« on: June 15, 2010, 07:55:40 pm »
hi i have been thinking about getting sum tamworths for sum time but i don't know where to start so i need sum advice on where to start.
i am dyslexic so for give the spelling

Daisys Mum

• Joined May 2009
  • Scottish Borders
Re: i am new to this
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 08:19:44 pm »

Hi madmax I am not the best person to give advice but i would say start with very secure fences ;D  ;D. If you have not kept pigs before I suggest that you read up as much as you can about them and if possible go on a pig keeping course.
You will find lots of knowledgable people on here, perhaps some of them may be near you. i am in the Scottish Borders.
Good luck  :pig: :pig: :pig:
Anne

Hilarysmum

• Joined Oct 2007
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2010, 08:22:32 pm »
Ooooooooh tamworths, hope you are really fit  :pig: :pig: :pig:

madmax

• Joined Jun 2010
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2010, 08:28:51 pm »
im not fit but if thay make me run around thats all good

HappyHippy

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2010, 08:39:41 am »
Hello  :wave:
I'd start by reading through all the old posts on the pig forum, get yourself a good book on pig keeping, attend a one day pig keeping course and go for a slightly more chilled out breed than Tamworths for your first attempt  ;) Anything with floppy ears is usually a good bet ! (Oxford sandy and blacks look a bit like spotty Tamworths and are so much more docile ! ;D) You'll need to apply for your CPH number and a herd number before getting any animals too. And definately good, STRONG fences (I can't emphasise that enough lol!)

madmax

• Joined Jun 2010
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2010, 05:54:47 pm »
most of my fencing is good and strong as the has been live stock on the land before many years a go

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2010, 07:13:22 pm »