Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: grass rent  (Read 2948 times)

DartmoorLiz

• Joined Jan 2012
  • Devon
grass rent
« on: November 25, 2016, 03:24:40 pm »
Hi,

someone has asked if their 13.2 pony can over winter with my 2 ponies.  There's enough space for 3.  I have never done this before.  What should I be concerned about?  What do other people charge? 
Never ever give up.

Steph Hen

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Angus Scotland.
Re: grass rent
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2016, 03:58:03 pm »
My mum, South Wales charges £10 a for grass.
Be aware of everything and get a contract document signed.
Like the term of the agreement, the day the money is due. Notice should rent not be paid.
If her horse gets injured by your ponies or a faulty fence/gate. If her saddle gets nicked from the shed.
If her pony goes through a fence or hurts one of yours who's liable for repairs and vet fees?
Feed can become hassle if she wants to feed differently from you - will you just split hay cost three ways? Will she take her pony out of field to feed it a bucket (if you/she do/don't bucket feed).
Worming timing, ideally done as/before she moves in and thereafter all wormed together.

Just some tips: most you'll never need to think of, then you get someone who won't pay, won't move their horse out, is hitting the other ponies with a whip so she can bucket feed her horse, and claims that you owe her £100 because her rug was nicked from the roadside gate while she went out for a ride!

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2016, 05:55:23 pm »
£10 a ...?
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

Steph Hen

• Joined Jul 2013