Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: What age do you kill your Zwartble lambs at?  (Read 3185 times)

Daisys Mum

• Joined May 2009
  • Scottish Borders
What age do you kill your Zwartble lambs at?
« on: October 12, 2016, 08:46:10 am »
Due to 2 unfortunate incidents I have a) 2 lambs who were born in June. b)1 who wasn't properly ringed, I think the sensible thing would be to put them in my freezer but not sure when to do it. I have had lots of grass this year so to my eye they look well grown and reasonably fat.
Anne

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
Re: What age do you kill your Zwartble lambs at?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 09:11:49 am »
I'm no expert in this, but what a knowledgeable friend told me that it's best to try to sell them straight off the ewe "before they shoot up in the air too much". That definitely happened to ours last year - we left them too long, and they started gaining height and not weight.

If they're going in *your* freezer though, you don't need to worry about what the market wants, so personally I'd keep them on good grass until I felt they were in danger of that, and would then send them.

I'd be interested to know what others do though, particularly if they castrate, and what their feeding regime is......
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2016, 10:24:31 am »