Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: can anyone help me!!!!!!!  (Read 5465 times)

marsha0012000

• Joined Jun 2008
  • Meopham, kent
can anyone help me!!!!!!!
« on: July 12, 2008, 05:00:01 pm »
I have got some soay lambs they are 2 months old i have put them in a stable with some hay to eat is there anything else  they need to eat?

Ayeskint

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Fife, Central Scotland
Re: can anyone help me!!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2008, 10:14:46 pm »
Hello there, I'm not an expert on Soay sheep but I would give them a mineral lick definately and maybe an energy lick although thats usually a winter thing but might compensate for the loss of sugar from the grass?  Are you intending to keep them indoors long or put them out to grass?  What were they being fed on before you got them - I'd be tempted to give them lamb pellets as well.  Certainly helps if you are trying to tame them by hand feeding.

Carol

marsha0012000

• Joined Jun 2008
  • Meopham, kent
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2008, 10:45:33 pm »
Thankyou i am keeping them in for a week or two so they will get use to me then they will be going out to grass they wern't being fed on anything before just grass.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2008, 07:22:59 am »
Remember to make sure that they have constant access to clean, fresh water. Good luck with the "taming".

woollyval

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Near Bodmin, Cornwall
    • Val Grainger
    • Facebook
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2008, 06:53:35 pm »
Hmmm I would first like to say...........Please go and do a course on sheep somewhere! It never fails to amaze me how people buy sheep/ lambs with not an idea how to look after them :o :-\