Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Making hay for the first time - any tips?  (Read 7976 times)

NethertonSH

• Joined May 2015
    • Netherton Smallholding
Making hay for the first time - any tips?
« on: August 01, 2016, 02:21:24 pm »
So I've gone and bought an old New Holland 370 baler, along with a Vicon disc mower and haybob. The person who I bought the baler off also gave me an old bale grab and sledge which need a bit of work but should do the job.

So does anyone have any tips? Firstly on the equipment side of things but also on the actual process of making hay.

My thinking is find at least 3 days of sunny weather, cut one morning, leave a couple days with a couple run overs with the haybob then bale the 3rd day. Would this work?

Any advice would be much appreciated as I'm a complete novice. A baler manual is on its way to me in the post.

Thanks.

landroverroy

• Joined Oct 2010
Re: Making hay for the first time - any tips?
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2016, 03:15:51 pm »
 Yes. that will work beautifully. Should produce some perfect hay. :sunshine:

When you discover how to guarantee the 3 days of sunny weather - perhaps you could let the rest of us know. :excited: :raining:
Rules are made:
  for the guidance of wise men
  and the obedience of fools.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2016, 03:36:49 pm »
Depends where you are, what the weather is like, how thick the crop is.  We can very rarely make small bale hay until the 4th day, or later, here, and need to work it every day, sometimes twice.  But if you did that in Yorkshire you'd have nothing but dust!   ;D
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing