Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: To wean .... or not to wean?  (Read 2778 times)

milliebecks

• Joined Sep 2015
To wean .... or not to wean?
« on: July 12, 2016, 06:28:52 pm »
I'm confused (again!) ....
I have 14 shetland lambs, born between 3rd and 29th April. They all seem to be doing well. Some of the ewes, however, are beginning to look a bit thin. My grass isn't great, but there seems to be enough of it.
As I'm new to this, I've been reading lots and asking advice from the old hands. I've read all the weaning archive on this forum.

My question is .... on what do I base my decision to leave them to it, or take the lambs off .... and if the latter ... when?
From what I've read/been told there are arguments for and against -  leaving them until sale time is better because they do best on milk and there is less risk of mastitis ... or, I should wean because the lambs can fail to thrive as the milk quality deteriorates. I've seen everything from 60 days to 18 weeks as the 'right' time to wean.

It may help to say that I have not been creep feeding, although the ewes come readily to the bucket and so some of the (older) lambs have joined them at the trough when I call them in.
I won't be selling until the beginning of November.
I think I have 2 riggs  ::)
I am planning to introduce a bought in tup lamb at some point in the next month.

Sorry to be long winded, but I'm just not sure what to do for the best ..... :-\

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: To wean .... or not to wean?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2016, 06:32:45 pm »
Have they been wormed and fluked recently?
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing