Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: what to do once they hatch?  (Read 1812 times)

trefnantbach

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Anglesey
what to do once they hatch?
« on: May 12, 2010, 01:26:18 pm »
I'm hoping my first batch of goose eggs will hatch tomorrow (they will have been in the incubator for 28 days. I candled them last night and out of 6 eggs four have a distinctive clear air space at the non-pointy end whilst the rest of the egg is completely opaque. Two eggs appear no different to when I looked a few weeks ago, i.e. apart from a small dark shadow that stays at the top of the egg when I rotate it, the remainder of the egg appears clear - I assume that these two eggs have not been fertilised.
Anyway as this is my first time .... - how long should I leave them in the incubator once they hatch (ovital 24 from Ascott)? Should I leave them there for 24 hours? I have an insulated box and heat lamp ready for them as a brooder. Should I provide them with chick crumbs and water as soon as I move them into the brooder 24 hrs after hatching or should they be provided immediately in the incubator?
It was a pleasant suprise that 4 of the eggs have made it to this stage - I decided to leave the incubator to do all the work. Since yesterday I have switched off the moving floor and wet the eggs twice daily manually in addition to filling the well with water. Is there anything else I should be doing to increase their chance of sucess?

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
Re: what to do once they hatch?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 01:29:54 pm »