Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: zwarble x texel lambs what weight for being sent to slaughter?  (Read 3367 times)

Farmerfi

• Joined Sep 2015
 :wave:

Hi all, this is my first year trying lambs going for slaughter, ive had sheep for a couple yrs on a very small scale but only sold as breeding but this yr really wanted to try lambs for slaughter, could anyone tell me will my local mart take my sheep for sale when at slaughter weight and if so am i right in thinking about 40-43 kgs?or do i have to get them butchered myself as not keen to do that as want to see how i get on trying to sell them on for slaughter if i can do that or is it best to sell them as store or fat lambs, I do ahve enough grass to keep them a few more months

thanks for any help

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
Re: zwarble x texel lambs what weight for being sent to slaughter?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2016, 10:01:30 am »
You could put them in the fat ring at market or sell direct to the abattoir. But selling to commercial buyers which both of these would be will limit the profit and they would need to be the right grades to get the best money- over fat or overweight and you'll be heavily penalised. Have a look at eblex they have fantastic guides on lamb grading and advice on when to send for slaughter based on condition as well as weight.

waterbuffalofarmer

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Mid Wales
  • Owner of 61 Mediterranean water buffaloes
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2016, 02:19:32 pm »
I'm not sure if this helps, but I used to send my Lleyn's and Lleyn x's for slaughter at 35-40 kg per lamb, or as fat lambs. Have you got a weight crate at all? Or could you borrow one? They tell me at mart that they set the scales back a bit, not sure how true that is.