Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Scouring lambs  (Read 8436 times)

Paul and Caroline

• Joined Apr 2014
Scouring lambs
« on: April 17, 2016, 04:21:54 pm »
Hi - I am a newbie lamb keeper and 10 days ago acquired 6 pet lambs that were then about 5 days old. They are on lamlac milk replacer taking 300ml 4 times daily. They have access to pellets and appear to be eating a small amount of them. They are indoors at the moment and in a well ventilated outbuilding in a pen which I keep very well stocked with straw. They also have plenty of fresh water. My question is that one or two of them have slightly dirty bums and I suspect they are having runny poos - how do I tell the difference between a gippy tummy and full blown scours? I have done 2 full bedding changes so far however today I noticed the smell of ammonia was very strong. They appear to be well in themselves (as far as I can tell) with good appetites and very alert. Am I changing the bedding often enough or should it be more frequent. I will be buying some ground sanitiser tomorrow to treat the floor once the bedding is cleared - any advice would be gratefully received

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: Scouring lambs
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2016, 08:57:43 pm »
You also want t give them hay - they need to develop their rumen, and milk and pellets are not going to do that.

What colour and particular smell is the droppings, especially the runny ones?  Are their stomachs bloated too, or just runny bums?

Paul and Caroline

• Joined Apr 2014
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2016, 09:50:15 pm »
Hi Anke