Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Fostering lambs onto ewe - advice please  (Read 3180 times)

jward

• Joined Dec 2013
  • Stockton-on-Tees
Fostering lambs onto ewe - advice please
« on: April 06, 2016, 05:58:36 pm »
Hi,
I've had a bit of a sorry morning.  I had two Shetland's lamb yesterday - a single and a set of twins.  All were right as rain and brought inside for a day or two until I castrate them.  Anyway, the single lamb was a bit wobbly this morning and died shortly afterwards, then an hour later the ewe that had had twins collapsed.  Called the vet out but she'd already died.  Vet thinks the lamb was laid on, and doesn't know what was wrong with the ewe but "one of those things".

So I'm trying to foster the twins onto the other ewe.  I've got them in a stable with her and she's quite happy for them to be in there with her, but so far will only let them suckle if I stand with her.  They're up and skipping about and going up to her.  It's my first time trying to mother lambs onto another ewe - am I doing everything right and will she eventually accept them?

I've got lambs milk and bottles if I need it, but the teats seem a bit big for the lambs - I've a mule ewe with twins to a Shetland ram and she only one functioning teat so had to supplement them for a couple of days and it was a bit difficult with the teat size so with these being even smaller lambs I'd rather them be on a ewe than have to rely on bottle feeding.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2016, 06:00:08 pm by jward »

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Fostering lambs onto ewe - advice please
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2016, 07:10:45 pm »
The first option would have been to rub the lambs with the birth fluid of the single that died, but this all happened too late for that.