Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Bristol: Weaned lambs/young sheep wanted  (Read 2374 times)

Bristol Dan

• Joined Mar 2016
Bristol: Weaned lambs/young sheep wanted
« on: March 05, 2016, 07:29:34 pm »
Hi all,

New to the forum (though I have been lurking around the site for years fantasising!) and was wondering if anyone might be able to help.

I would like to try my hand at raising 3 lambs for the freezer and was hoping to find weaned lambs or young sheep for sale in the Bristol area.

I think timing wise it is a bit early (completely new to this sheep thing!) but was hoping to get the ball rolling as I would like to get them as early as possible so they can start munching the grass!

Thanks in advance.

Faye.Lear

• Joined Mar 2016
Re: Bristol: Weaned lambs/young sheep wanted
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 04:11:37 pm »
Hi Dan,

I'm a newbie too, and a bristolian!

Just reared my first 6 orphan lambs, 5 ewe lambs and 1 ram lamb (he will be for the freezer). Just weaning the last 2 in a couple of weeks time. - Started with my first one on 7th January! - There are lambs about  :)

Will follow your progress but hope to see you have success!

CPWSolf

• Joined Nov 2013
  • Somerset
  • Wannabe Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2016, 09:30:35 pm »
Hi Dan,

I too am from the area (well Taunton) have been doing something similar for years. I have done it up in Cumbria as well.

Try lambbank.co.uk we ended up with 5 lambs for a grand total of £25! They came from two seperate sources, 3 were free as they are wonky so to speak and the other two were £25 for the pair. Becomes really worth it.
If you need any advice feel free to drop me a pm.
Chris

"You have seen but not observed whereas I both see and observe."

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCadYy6qr4IjVVsVT7zrCZag

Bristol Dan

• Joined Mar 2016
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2016, 09:45:25 pm »
Hi Faye,

How did you find raising orphan lambs?