Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lame Ewe  (Read 2630 times)

MiriMaran

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Derbyshire
Lame Ewe
« on: February 21, 2016, 07:47:28 pm »
Hi, I've not been on this forum for ages, but am in need of some advice please.

I'm fairly new to sheep owning and have 4 Jacob Ewes that I've owned for just over a year are in lamb for the first time.

Last year a couple of the sheep had feet problems during wet weather. Their hoof seemed to separate from the soft part of their toe and mud would get impacted between the two.  It seemed to sort itself out when the weather dried out.

However last week Martha was lame and when I checked her half of the hoof had split and was hanging off. I trimmed and washed the hoof and sprayed it with Terramycin. I then shut her in so she could be on some solid ground.

2 days after, she was standing on that foot fine but had gone lame on a front leg. When I checked she had the impacted mud, as described above, but because she was in it had dried hard which is why I'm guessing it had got sore. I tried to clean it as best I could and then sprayed it. That was 2 days ago and although Martha is putting weight on it she is still lame.

So my question is, would should I do please? Is this a common problem? Does it have a name so I can do some research? Any help would be great please and sorry for such a long post!

CarolineJ

• Joined Dec 2015
  • North coast of Scotland
Re: Lame Ewe
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 07:51:33 pm »
That sounds like shelly hoof/white line disease, I think?  You need to scrape the mud out of the pocket that has formed between the foot and the hoof wall and then carefully trim away the hoof until you get back to hoof that's flush to the foot - if it's not flush, then when the hoof grows down again, mud will start getting back in and pushing the hoof wall out again.

crobertson

• Joined Sep 2015
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2016, 08:13:45 pm »