Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: hobble/ feed  (Read 2832 times)

langdon

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Pembrokeshire
  • The Happy Smallholder!
hobble/ feed
« on: April 20, 2010, 06:33:14 pm »
two questions here,

1- do people use a hobble when milking their goats, i think its a little rope that tied behind the rear legs
when goats are been milked to stop them kicking over the bucket or bowl.

2- do people prefer to feed before milking or after milking?
and what are the reasons.

thanks langdon  ;D  :goat:
Langdon ;)

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
Re: hobble/ feed
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2010, 08:19:05 pm »
Hi Langdon

as you know I'm a novice goat milker!! but I've not used a hobble (although it sounds a useful idea and I'll be interested to hear what the others say)  our nanny hasn't kicked a bowl over completely but today did jog it a bit when she was startled by a noise

I've been feeding her a half of her daily ration to keep her busy while I fumble about and try to get the hang of milking!

LIsa
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2010, 08:27:27 pm »
we keep margo busy with food, otherwise she will not stand still at all !
we dont use a stand, she has to have her special yellow bucket, and likes it a little off the ground
She has a variety of food, and if she starts fidgeting, will often go back in the bucket if I add raisens or cornflakes to her goat food & maize.

the little goat stands stock still when she is stroked (if she's in the mood!) so hopefully when her time comes this will help!

whatever you decide Langdon, get yours used to it early on, before the milk comes, they seem to like routine....
Little Blue

Roxy

• Joined May 2009
  • Peak District
    • festivalcarriages.co.uk