Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New lamb owner needs help  (Read 2984 times)

Jackie

• Joined Nov 2009
New lamb owner needs help
« on: April 19, 2010, 02:23:16 am »
Posted by dottydiva62

Hand Rearing Lambs-Procedures

Ok> My lambs are doing well apart from upset tummies which seem to of settles down after having several doses of probiotic.

So what next, do I worm, will they need vaccinations and I have heard about treat them for flies and getting dipped, I only have two, I am a complete novice so please excuse my ignorance but we all have to start somewhere and I want to get it right.

They are on 4 feeds per day of about just over a litre of lamlac in total, they are also on pellets and nibbling hay.

I just need to be guided as a course of action.

Thank you,

ScotsGirl

• Joined Dec 2009
  • Wiltshire
Re: New lamb owner needs help
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2010, 08:06:03 am »
Hi, you don't say how old the lambs are.  Watch you don't overfeed them.  Spray for flystrike from approx 4 weeks old.  Feet won't need doing if you are sending for meat and if keeping still probably won't need anything done for first 6 months but keep an eye on them.

Worming shouldn't need doing but it depends where you got them from so possibly a poo sample to the vet for analysis and then discuss suitable worming programme with them.

If they have plenty of grass, water and the bottle they will be happy.  I reared two in the garden a couple of years ago but they ate all my plants so live in the field now!

If bums are dirty clean and clip off mucky fleece or it will attract flies plus be uncomfortable.

Good luck

dottydiva62

• Joined Apr 2010
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2010, 08:22:58 am »