Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Best Sheep Breed for first time keeper  (Read 6025 times)

niky

• Joined Sep 2015
Best Sheep Breed for first time keeper
« on: September 23, 2015, 07:57:05 am »
Hi, I'm a newbie to sheep keeping and am looking for some advice to the best sheep to get  to start with, I am looking to buy 4 - 6 to start with.  Have aprox 5 to 10 acres rough grazing with natural shelter. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

clydesdaleclopper

• Joined Aug 2009
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: Best Sheep Breed for first time keeper
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2015, 09:32:26 am »
Get some that you like the look of. There are so many breeds and we all think our choice is the best  ;D but ultimately you will be looking after them. The main thing is to make sure that whatever you get isn't too wild so that you can handle them. Good luck.
Our holding has Anglo Nubian and British Toggenburg goats, Gotland sheep, Franconian Geese, Blue Swedish ducks, a whole load of mongrel hens and two semi-feral children.

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2015, 09:51:49 am »
Where abouts do you live?  If your aim is to sell fat lambs then usually the best sheep for your area are the ones your neighbours have, as they will have tried various types over the years and settled on the ones that do best in your environment.
If you want to do rare breed or pedigree breeding then you need to select a breed that will suit your land/altitude/weather/grazing.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2015, 09:55:09 am »
Where are you niky? I'd recommend that you get along to the Scottish Smallholder and Grower Festival thsi Saturday - 26 breeds of sheep entered, so a chance to see a wide range of breeds and talk to their owners and breeders. www.ssgf.uk

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well