Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Turkeys like 1980's music!  (Read 2403 times)

wayfarer

• Joined May 2013
Turkeys like 1980's music!
« on: August 30, 2015, 04:25:42 pm »
I have 3 turkeys destined for Christmas and they are all stags.  Today my OH was working in the shed near them and had the radio playing "Best of the '80s" songs and the turkeys were really strutting their stuff.  Switch off the music and they calm down.  Put it on again and off they go.  Anyone else seen this?

Also, am I likely to have a problem with 3 stags on their own?

Buffy the eggs layer

• Joined Jun 2010
Re: Turkeys like 1980's music!
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 09:21:06 am »
Im new to Turkeys but I think my boys and girls are just GREAT! I haven't tried them with tunes but they are confined to quarters today in an attempt to get them to adopt their new coop so I will try out a selection of music genres and see what they make of it.

My babies are a heritage breed so may respond better to chamber music  :-J

:farmer::turkey: :turkey: :turkey: :turkey: :turkey: :turkey: = :love:

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2015, 12:12:50 pm »
Well known fact is poultry like classical music when they are at the inside rearing stage. They will listen to other music, but classical gets the best results.

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2015, 12:25:32 pm »
Which are what exactly Chris?   ;D

BTW, our peafowl are punks. They love The Clash, leave mess and destruction everywhere and even have mohicans!  :roflanim:
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

Buffy the eggs layer

• Joined Jun 2010
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2015, 12:35:14 pm »
 :roflanim:

Clansman

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Ayrshire
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2015, 01:28:41 pm »

Also, am I likely to have a problem with 3 stags on their own?

Nope, should be fine raised together.