Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice re slaughter for a novice  (Read 3395 times)

Piggerswiggers

• Joined Jul 2015
Advice re slaughter for a novice
« on: July 16, 2015, 05:40:55 pm »
My first 2 boars are off to the abattoir in 10 days. As a complete novice am I right in thinking that they should be starved after breakfast the previous day? If that's the case is there any advice on getting the ear tags in. I'd been banking on doing it while they ate their supper to minimise the amount of time the tags are in place as they're quite boisterous and I think they might get pulled out when they "wrestle".
Any other pertinent advice from people with more experience will be gratefully received. I've been working my way through the archives of the forum but have yet to see this specific topic dealt with.
Cheers
Piggerswiggers

verdifish

• Joined Jan 2013
  • banffshire
Re: Advice re slaughter for a novice
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2015, 09:26:10 pm »
Which abattoir?  If you did it before (12/24hours ) of fasting time you would be extremely unlucky for one of them to be pulled out ! However you will probably have to use some food to get them in the trailer so I would be to bothered !.

heyhay1984

• Joined Jun 2014
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2015, 10:04:13 pm »
We normally take them on the Sunday afternoon so they have a late breakfast that day once they're on the trailer, certainly helps them get over the uncertainty of the ramp if their breakfast is on it!

My mate does the tagging for me and does it while they've got their heads down snuffling in the straw in the trailer, very rarely have a problem doing it like that through the drop down sides.

MarthaR

• Joined Sep 2013
  • Near Abergavenny, South Wales
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2015, 11:09:21 pm »
 :wave:
Hi Piggerswiggers