Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Castration or not?  (Read 3714 times)

mollyneedshelp

• Joined Jun 2015
Castration or not?
« on: June 24, 2015, 11:22:58 am »
I am new to sheep keeping and had my first experience of lambing this year.

The ram lambs were ringed (not by me) when they were a few days old, all seemed to go well so imagine my suprise when I had to turn a lamb on his back to treat his foot and found what appears to be testicles but next to his body as the bit underneath has dropped off through ringing.

I brought them all in and checked and them and they all seem to have testicles still, or am I mistaking them for something else?  I don't think I am  ;)

They are around four months now, can they still be castrated by the vet?  I'm a bit embarrassed to ask lol!

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: Castration or not?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 11:37:16 am »
Especially if they are a small breed, and the person who applies the ring is not very careful, then the testes themselves can pop back through the ring, so only empty 'purse' is removed.

Yes the vet can deal with the problem, either by open castration or using the Burdizzo, but get a quote first.  Is it impossible to leave them as they are?  We leave many of ours entire anyway (to see by 16 months which are possibles for breeding), and they get on OK together, apart from a little jockeying for position.
"Let's not talk about what we can do, but do what we can"

There is NO planet B - what are YOU doing to save our home?

Do something today that your future self will thank you for - plant a tree

Love your soil - it's the lifeblood of your land.

mollyneedshelp

• Joined Jun 2015
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 12:08:59 pm »
Thanks for your reply, yes I could leave them as they are as long as they all get on okay and don't damage the fencing.  Do they stay quiet if there are no females around?